Ego Awarded Governor of Victoria Export Award for Manufacturing

Ego Awarded Governor of Victoria Export Award for Manufacturing

Ego has won the Victorian Export Award in the category of Manufacturing, for outstanding international success by a manufacturer.

The award was presented by the Hon Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria, at the presentation night at Government House on Monday October 16, attended by more than 300 industry leaders. 15 ‘Governor of Victoria Export Awards’ were presented across a range of fields, in the 38th annual award ceremony which recognises success and innovation within the multi-billion dollar Victorian export industry.

Ego Pharmaceuticals is the largest Australian-owned pharmaceutical company specialising in dermatology. Established in 1953 it still remains family owned and all the skincare products are made in Australia. Ego Pharmaceuticals researches, manufactures and markets over 120 products to 27 nations throughout Asia Pacific, the Middle East and Europe.

2016-17 was a huge growth year for Ego. The new $35 million headquarters was opened early in 2017, with a distribution centre that has a 9,000 pallet storage, and new office facilities for the continually growing staff across the commercial arm of the business supporting both international and domestic growth. Ego has a long term plan already devised for the site which includes a world class manufacturing centre to cater for projected export growth over the next 6 years.

The Governor told guests that Victoria earned more than $43 billion in exports in 2016/17– up by more than $4 billion from the previous financial year.

“We know of the challenges in transitioning from traditional manufacturing,” the Governor said.

“Pleasingly, we are rising to those challenges. We recorded a remarkable 169 per cent growth in the export of pharmaceutical products, and education-related travel was also a significant contributor to the increase in the export of our services.”

“As Patron of these awards, it is a great pleasure to acknowledge the work of all of you who contribute so much to our Victorian exports.”

Ego congratulates all the winners of the state awards, with the full list of award recipients below:

Agribusiness Award: Yumbah Aquaculture Limited

Business Services Award: Flight Safety Foundation Limited

Creative Industries Award: Envato

Digital Technologies Award: Pepperstone

E-Commerce Award: DPP Pharmaceuticals

Education and Training Award: Deakin University

Environmental Solutions Award: Geofabrics Australasia Pty Ltd

Manufacturing Award: Ego Pharmaceuticals

Minerals, Energy And Related Services Award: MMG Limited

Regional Exporter Award: Safescape

Small Business Award: Anatomics Pty Ltd

Victorian Women In International Business Award: Lyn Stribley, Director Of Mining One

Victorian Export Award For Innovation Excellence: Harris C4i Pty Ltd

Victorian Exporter Of The Year Award: Pepperstone Group

For more information, contact:

Eva Winberg – PR and Communications Executive

0487 922 825